Final Trophy Race 2015 Bude!

The Final BQA Trophy Race of the 2015 Season, will take place in Bude on Saturday 19th September – This is one of our longest running established Quadrathlons, this race in Bude never ceases to amaze me, I have raced it in all weathers …. it is always a brilliant exciting and challenging race to end the season! Starting in the sea, there’s plenty of hills, a historic canal and amazing coastal views … it’s one of those addictive races that keeps drawing you back.

Distances – The event starts with an 800 m sea swim, a double loop within Summerleaze bay, protected by the breakwater. Next a 30 km cycle following the coast road to Widemouth, Wanson Mouth and Millook before meeting the A39 at Wainhouse Corner and returning to Bude. Then a 10 km Kayak paddle, which is a double loop of the Bude canal. And finally a 10 km run along the canal towpath to Helebridge, following the marked footpath across the fields to Widemouth and returning to Bude via the coastal path.

THE BQA will be also presenting the 2015 Trophy Series Prizes, so its the last race to get those vital points!  

Adam Norfolk and Jean Ashley are the overall leaders to date, but things could change depending on who is racing at Bude! Phil Holden is leading Vet 40, Nigel Unwin Vet 50 and John Kavanagh Vet 60.

Remember it’s 3 races to count and you must be a BQA 2015 member to take the prizes. (In the event of a tie the 4th race points will count to decide the winner) 

Overall Winners take the BQA Perpetual Trophy – Male and Female, plus BQA Kit vouchers. Also Kit vouchers for Male and Female winners in each category, Juniors (u23), Seniors, V40+, V50+, and V60+
Eric Hatliff Memorial Trophy is awarded each year ‘For Endeavor’ given to an athlete showing his enthusiasm and commitment to the sport of Quadrathlon.