2014 National Trophy Champions

Once again Bude Awesome Foursome was a fitting end to our 2014 National Trophy Series, with the last race of the series being the final decider for most of the prizes! It has been made up of 5 races, unfortunately The Deeside Triathlon and the Fabian 4 had to be cancelled so Trophy Points were taken from the 5 races below.

The Brigg Bomber, South Yorkshire Quad, Box End Sprint Quadrathlon, Shrewsbury Sprint Quadrathlon, The Awesome Foursome

FINAL TROPHY RESULTS 2014 Final Trophy Results

This season 83 males and 30 female athletes took part in the series, slightly less men than last year but double the amount of females … Well Done The Girls! It was great to see plenty of first timers and some of them doing really well doing 3 or more of our races, special mention to John Redmond, Mary White and youngsters Will Jackson and Robert Jeffries all in their first year of Quadrathlon. Superb commitment from Phil Holden, John Kavanagh and Lance Ball who all did the whole Series, with Ian Smith, Nigel Unwin, Nicholas Price, Julian Brewer and John Ellwood all doing 4 races.

Another Special mention must go to Peter Chappill from Lincsquad who has also done all 5 races, 3 as an individual and the other 2 leading youngster Jack Gardner (partially sighted), and great achievement to Peter and to Jack who have gone from strength to strength this year and have done PB’s all round!

A fantastic season and a huge uptake in women and over 60’s, its looking like the over 60’s will stand in a catagory on their own next season, so long as we have 3 or more racing! The BQA hope everyone enjoyed their quad season and will be back for more challenges and races next year!

All 5 of our Quad Races this year have been superbly organized by enthusiastic ‘Teams’ of like minded people and athletes, all enjoyed by the competitors ! A Huge thank-you for their commitment and for providing us with great races with the Aim to Keep our Small Friendly Sport ALIVE!

The BQA help to promote their races and supply the Race insurance so its vital we have YOUR support, we have had our largest membership to date, a big thanks to Lincsquad for hosting the World Championships this has made a huge difference, so a Big THANK-YOU to all our 2014 members for your support!

The BQA Perpetual Trophies (and BQA kit vouchers) are awarded each year, provided each winner has done 3 races in the series, and must be a current BQA Member. Congratulations to the 2014 Winners!

Overall Winners Perpetual Trophy Male Ian Smith 

Overall Winners Perpetual Trophy Female Jean Ashley

U23 Robert Jefferies

Vet 40 Male Phil Holden

Vet 50 Male Nigel Unwin (role down as Ian Smith won Overall Trophy)

Vet 50 Female Mary White (role down as Jean Ashley won Overall Trophy)

The Eric Hatliff Memorial Trophy awarded each year ‘For Endeavor’
this year it was given to LINCSQUAD for hosting the 2014 World Championships, their enthusiasm and commitment to the sport of Quadrathlon is Outstanding!